Incredible India

This India trip almost did not push through because of Air Asia’s flights cancellation to New Delhi. booked the flight late 2011 and three months before the trip, they notified all passengers about the news. I chose to be transferred to other airlines as Air Asia have already an agreement with Malaysia Airlines. but it took a very long time that confirmed MAS e-ticket was sent. In my case i just received it two weeks before the trip so it was a stressful planning of the trip itinerary. I also got a hard time booking with cleartrip where all train bookings did not proceed while booking on their very slow site. From the start the process of registration to the site is very complicated that you need an India mobile number as required for registration. The account has been linked to IRCTC which is the main website for train bookings in India. While account registration the system will send an email password as well as mobile password which will be sent thru the provided mobile number so if you’re booking outside of India it will be harder to register. There’s a workaround and that is to request IRCTC to allow your registration by sending an email requesting a mobile password. So when they have provided one for me, the cleartrip site did not seem to cooperate as all my bookings were cancelled and all for refund.

So after i processed my visa and got the final confirmation from Malaysia Airlines i pushed through with the plan. I was able to contact India Travel Organizers based in New Delhi to arrange my itinerary for India. I decided to have this route New Delhi-Agra-Jaipur-Jodhpur-New Delhi.

I arrived in the Indian capital by lunch time so not so much activities except for  India Gate and Qutab Minar. Also able to visit the presidential and parliament houses. It was a monday so lots of sights are closed. As always souvenir shop visits follow but you can ask the driver not to visit souvenir shops yet. The travel agency manager invited a dinner at home so I was able to eat my first chicken curry meal.

The next day was the start of India road trip as we go for an early travel to Agra and experience the street hot tea before proceeding to Taj Mahal, the most famous landmark of India, a UNESCO world heritage site.

20121216-201523.jpg

Also we had a quick visit to the Agra Fort before heading to Fatehpur Sikri, a ghost town built and abandoned but now a famous Muslim and also a UNESCO heritage site. Agra buses to the heritage site were available going to the site. Then enroute to another 5-hour road trip to the pink city Jaipur.

20121216-202030.jpg

The city is a very commercial and famous for textiles. I was able to visit lots of landmark like the Amber Fort but did not go for the elephant ride as a Maharaja to the top of the fort.

When we arrived in Jodhpur we went right away to buy spices. The city is famous for spices so found myself buying chicken tikka masala and curry powders for home use. I stayed at  Jodhpur Heritage Kuchaman Haveli.

The next day we went to Meharangarh Fort overlooking the blue city of Jodhpur. Also within the vicinity is the Jaswant Thada a temple made of marble.

20121216-202526.jpg

I parted ways with my driver and dropped me at the Jodhpur train station to board sleeper train Mandor Express back to New Delhi

Back in New Delhi I met another driver to take me around the city and visited the huge Red Fort complex, Raj Ghat, Himayun’s Tomb and Akshardham Temple in which cameras were not allowed inside.

20121216-202732.jpg

It was really a great journey in India. Hope i had more time to visit Kerala or Amritsar or Varanasi and even Mumbai but maybe that will wait until the next visit. India is definitely one of the most colorful country i visited. It’s really incredible!

1 Comment

Filed under Architecture, India, Temples, Travel

One response to “Incredible India

  1. Hey, I love reading your blog and have nominated you for The Beautiful Blog Award! Please check out my blog for details, post the award on your sidebar and spread the love to some of your favorite bloggers!

    A big thanks for all the blog awards…. 2

Leave a comment